Racing 92 fly-half Finn Russell has wowed European Rugby fans throughout the season with a string of eye-catching plays and tries as the French club have marched to a third Heineken Champions Cup final with the chance to win Europe’s elite club competition for the first time. 

The Scotland international has featured in all eight of the French side’s Heineken Champions Cup matches this season, scoring tries in the opening two rounds in victories over Saracens and Munster Rugby as Racing 92 conquered Pool 4, dubbed the ‘Pool of death’. 

His European stats look exceptional, racking up 252 metres from 59 carries, beating 21 defenders and picking up 11 clean breaks in the process. 

Russell’s ingenuity also proved crucial in their last four match with Saracens, as he stepped up with a stunning chip to find fellow nominee Virimi Vakatawa, before collecting an offload and handing to Juan Imhoff who crossed the whitewash for what would turn out to be the match-winning score. 

Voting has now reopened on and the winner and recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final in Bristol on Saturday 17 October.


EPCR European Player of the Year shortlist  

STUART HOGG (Exeter Chiefs)  

SEMI RADRADRA (Bristol Bears / Bordeaux-Bègles 

FINN RUSSELL (Racing 92)  

SAM SIMMONDS (Exeter Chiefs)  


Judging panel  

Erik Bonneval (beIN SPORTS), Bryan Habana (Channel 4), Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Sonja McLaughlan (BBC Radio 5 Live), Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), Alan Quinlan (Virgin Media), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions).  

 Roll of Honour
2019: Alex Goode (Saracens)
2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)
2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)
2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby)