Leinster Rugby back Jamie Osborne has marked his first Heineken Champions Cup campaign by being included on the longlist for the 2023 EPCR European Player of the Year award.

The 21-year-old has made only three appearances and one of those was as a replacement, but he has made such an impact in those that he joins more celebrated team-mates Caelan Doris, Garry Ringrose and Josh van der Flier, the holder of the trophy, on the 15-strong list.

Osborne, who can play centre or full-back, celebrated his first Heineken Champions Cup start with a 27th-minute try in Leinster’s 49-14 victory at Gloucester Rugby in Round 3, when he wore the No.12 shirt.

His two other appearances came in Leinster’s Round 1 and Round 4 wins over Racing 92 as they topped Pool A to qualify for a home Round of 16 tie with Ulster Rugby on April 1 at the Aviva Stadium.


Grégory ALLDRITT (Stade Rochelais)
Gavin COOMBES (Munster Rugby)
Caelan DORIS (Leinster Rugby)
Elliot DALY (Saracens)
Antoine DUPONT (Stade Toulousain)
Eben ETZEBETH (Cell C Sharks)
Jaden HENDRIKSE (Cell C Sharks)
Siya KOLISI (Cell C Sharks)
Makazole MAPIMPI (Cell C Sharks)
Julien MARCHAND (Stade Toulousain)
Emmanuel MEAFOU (Stade Toulousain)
Jamie OSBORNE (Leinster Rugby)
Garry RINGROSE (Leinster Rugby)
Justin TIPURIC (Ospreys)
Josh VAN DER FLIER (Leinster Rugby)

Judging Panel – Bryan Habana (two-time Heineken Champions Cup winner), Sarah Hunter (former England captain), Elma Smit (sports presenter and producer), Andy Goode (two-time Heineken Cup winner), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions and Challenge Cup winner)

Roll of Honour – 2022: Josh van der Flier (Leinster Rugby) ; 2021: Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain) ; 2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs); 2019: Alex Goode (Saracens); 2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92); 2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens); 2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens); 2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne); 2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon); 2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon); 2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby); 2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby); 2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European professional club competitions)