2022 EPCR European Player of the Year Josh van der Flier returns to the Ireland starting XV for their Test against Australia at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday.

The Leinster Rugby flanker, who has been shortlisted as one of four nominees for the World Rugby Player of the Year after helping the Irish province to last season’s Heineken Champions Cup final, comes in as one of eight changes made by head coach Andy Farrell following last weekend’s win over Fiji.

Seven of those alterations see Leinster players brought in, with prop Andrew Porter, hooker Dan Sheehan, lock James Ryan, centre Garry Ringrose, full-back Hugo Keenan and fly-half Johnny Sexton, another nominee for the World Rugby award, called in alongside van der Flier.

Keenan’s introduction sees clubmate Jimmy O’Brien switch to the wing, while Munster Rugby flanker Peter O’Mahony comes in as the other tweak.

Three other Leinster representatives keep their starting berths, with Tadhg Furlong continuing at prop, Caelan Doris shifting to No.8 and Jamison Gibson-Park retained at scrum-half.

Munster lock Tadhg Beirne and Ulster Rugby centre Stuart McCloskey keep their places in the side, while Leinster’s Joe McCarthy could make his Ireland debut from the bench.

Elsewhere on Saturday, Exeter Chiefs lock Jonny Gray has been recalled as Scotland welcome Argentina – he joins clubmate Stuart Hogg in the starting team.

Heineken Champions Cup returnees Edinburgh Rugby boast five representatives in the side, in prop Pierre Schoeman, lock Grant Gilchrist, flanker Jamie Ritchie, and wings Duhan van der Merwe and Darcy Graham.

Racing 92’s Finn Russell continues at fly-half while Gloucester Rugby’s Chris Harris is retained at inside centre.

Meanwhile, the Heineken Champions Cup players brought in by Argentina are Leicester Tigers hooker Julián Montoya, Saracens prop Eduardo Bello and ASM Clermont Auvergne wing Bautista Delguy.