Four Sharks players, who will be key men in the Durban-based club’s Heineken Champions Cup debut next season, start for South Africa in their Rugby Championship clash with New Zealand in Nelspruit on Saturday.

Centre Lukhanyo Am, wing Makazole Mapimpi, flanker Siya Kolisi and lock Eben Etzebeth are the Pool A side’s representatives in the Springboks’ starting XV.

Meanwhile, Stormers, another team joining the Heineken Champions Cup next campaign, have two names in the side in prop Frans Malherbe and full-back Damian Willemse.

Kurt-Lee Arendse, who plays for Bulls, the other South African club involved in the 2022/23 Heineken Champions Cup, is named on the wing and will earn his second cap.

Other Springboks starters who are set to be involved in EPCR’s elite competition next term are Leicester Tigers fly-half Handre Pollard and No.8 Jasper Wiese, plus Racing 92 prop Trevor Nyakane.

Sharks pair Bongi Mbonambi and Jaden Hendrikse are among the replacements – as are Stormers’ Steven Kitshoff and Salmaan Moerat.