Leinster Rugby flanker Josh van der Flier has been included on the EPCR European Player of the Year shortlist after a prolific season.

The 28-year-old has been a regular try-scorer for the Irish province as they’ve marched into the Heineken Champions Cup final, crossing six times in seven matches – a haul only three players have bettered in this season’s competition.

During the pool stage van der Flier dotted down in both Leinster’s wins against Bath Rugby and went over for a double in their demolition of Montpellier Hérault Rugby.

He also notched crucial scores in their quarter-final and semi-final successes, against Leicester Tigers and Stade Toulousain respectively.

The Ireland international has been relentless defensively too, completing the joint-most tackles (89) of any player in this season’s competition, missing just six.

Voting for one of the most prized individual accolades in world rugby has now reopened on epcrugby.com/epoty and the winner and recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final at the Stade Vélodrome on Saturday 28 May.     

2022 EPCR European Player of the Year shortlist      

Grégory ALLDRITT (Stade Rochelais)
Caelan DORIS (Leinster Rugby)
Antoine DUPONT (Stade Toulousain)
James LOWE (Leinster Rugby) 
Josh VAN DER FLIER (Leinster Rugby)     

Judging panel
Erik Bonneval (beIN SPORTS), Bryan Habana (two-time Heineken Champions Cup winner), Lee McKenzie (Channel 4), Alan Quinlan (Virgin Media and two-time Heineken Champions Cup winner), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions and EPCR Challenge Cup winner).     

Roll of Honour
2021: Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain)
2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
2019: Alex Goode (Saracens)
2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)
2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)
2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby)