Leinster Rugby back-row forward Caelan Doris has been named on the final EPCR European Player of the Year shortlist after a series of excellent performances in the Heineken Champions Cup.

The Ireland international has been one of the mainstays of a Leinster side who have stormed into the Heineken Champions Cup final, starting in all seven of their wins and missing only 23 minutes on their run to the showpiece game in Marseille.

Doris has been a willing runner for the Irish province, racking up 72 carries, the second-highest of any player in this season’s competition.

His relentlessness with ball in hand was typified in Leinster’s semi-final triumph over Stade Toulousain as he beat four defenders. Only two players beat more during the two semi-final matches.

The 24-year-old is also among the top five tacklers for this campaign, completing 79 and missing just five.

Voting for one of the most prized individual accolades in world rugby has now reopened on epcrugby.com/epoty and the winner and recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final at the Stade Vélodrome on Saturday 28 May.  

2022 EPCR European Player of the Year shortlist   

Grégory ALLDRITT (Stade Rochelais)
Caelan DORIS (Leinster Rugby)
Antoine DUPONT (Stade Toulousain)
James LOWE (Leinster Rugby)
Josh VAN DER FLIER (Leinster Rugby)  

Judging panel
Erik Bonneval (beIN SPORTS), Bryan Habana (two-time Heineken Champions Cup winner), Lee McKenzie (Channel 4), Alan Quinlan (Virgin Media and two-time Heineken Champions Cup winner), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions and EPCR Challenge Cup winner).  

Roll of Honour
2021: Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain)
2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
2019: Alex Goode (Saracens)
2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)
2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)
2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby)