Stade Rochelais captain Grégory Alldritt has made the final EPCR European Player of the Year shortlist for the second year running.

The France No.8 has guided the TOP 14 team to the Heineken Champions Cup final for the second successive year, producing a string of all-action performances.

Alldritt has made more carries (113) than any other player in this season’s competition and is second when it comes to metres made (731), defenders beaten (28) and offloads (15).

He has also been a colossus in defence, securing seven turnovers and putting himself among the tournament’s top 10 tacklers, completing 70 and missing just three across the seven games he has featured in.

Alldritt has also scored important tries in La Rochelle’s knockout-stage games, dotting down in their Round of 16 second-leg win against Union Bordeaux-Bègles before going over in their semi-final triumph against Racing 92.

Voting for one of the most prized individual accolades in world rugby has now reopened on and the winner and recipient of the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final at the Stade Vélodrome on Saturday 28 May. 

2022 EPCR European Player of the Year shortlist  

Grégory ALLDRITT (Stade Rochelais)
Caelan DORIS (Leinster Rugby)
Antoine DUPONT (Stade Toulousain)
James LOWE (Leinster Rugby)
Josh VAN DER FLIER (Leinster Rugby) 

Judging panel
Erik Bonneval (beIN SPORTS), Bryan Habana (two-time Heineken Champions Cup winner), Lee McKenzie (Channel 4), Alan Quinlan (Virgin Media and two-time Heineken Champions Cup winner), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions and EPCR Challenge Cup winner). 

Roll of Honour
2021: Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain)
2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
2019: Alex Goode (Saracens)
2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby)
2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby)
2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby)