Grégory Alldritt solidified his chances of clinching the EPCR European Player of the Year title as he helped guide La Rochelle to their first ever Heineken Champions Cup final. 

The French flanker has enjoyed a tremendous year in Europe and has been a key component of La Rochelle’s history-making season, scoring tries against both Sale Sharks and Leinster Rugby. 

The 24-year-old has been a mainstay in the back row for La Rochellecompleting every minute of their incredible Heineken Champions Cup campaign. 

Alldritt has demonstrated terrific defensive work rate, completing 28 tackles in a series of majestic performances. He has been relentless going forward too, making 59 carries, beating 10 defenders and gaining over 130 metres in this season’s competition. 

A crucial try in the final 15 minutes of La Rochelle’s momentous semi-final win over Leinster typified his season so far, and he will no doubt be a huge influence in the final against Toulouse at Twickenham. 

The winner of one of the most prized individual accolades in the world game will receive a specially-struck gold medal as well as the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy. 

Voting for the award, which is in its 11th season, is now open HERE and those fans who take part will be in the running to win a signed ball and a signed jersey of one of the Heineken Champions Cup finalist clubs. 

The winner of the 2021 award will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final on Saturday, 22 May. 

EPCR European Player of the Year 2021 award nominees: 

Grégory ALLDRITT (La Rochelle)
Antoine DUPONT (Toulouse)
Jerome KAINO (Toulouse)
Julien MARCHAND (Toulouse)
Will SKELTON (La Rochelle) 

Judging Panel – Erik Bonneval (beIN SPORTS), Bryan Habana (Channel 4), Sonja McLaughlan (BBC Radio 5 Live), Alan Quinlan (Virgin Media), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions) 

Roll of Honour – 2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs); 2019: Alex Goode (Saracens); 2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92); 2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens); 2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens); 2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne); 2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon); 2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon); 2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster Rugby); 2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster Rugby); 2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster Rugby – best player of first 15 years of European professional club competitions)