The European Rugby Challenge Cup final will be held in Marseille for the second time in its history next year. The first came in 2010, when Cardiff Blues beat RC Toulon in front of a record crowd for the fixture of 48,990. Here we look back at that thrilling match.

Cardiff Blues 28 RC Toulon 21
Cardiff Blues became the first Welsh team to win a European trophy thanks to a fine second-half fightback at the Stade Velodrome.

The Welsh region trailed 13-6 at the interval, but they silenced the raucous Toulon fans with three second-half tries to end their 15-year wait for European glory.

Wales wing Leigh Halfpenny gave the Blues an early lead with a penalty, only for Toulon’s former England fly-half, Jonny Wilkinson, to level the scores.

Full-back Ben Blair put Cardiff back in front with another penalty, before Wilkinson again equalised with a penalty and then converted a try by the posts from Toulon’s All Blacks centre, Sonny Bill Williams.

During the break Cardiff had to replace captain and Wales prop Gethin Jenkins due to injury, and Toulon lost playmaker Wilkinson just after the interval for the same reason.

The switches affected Toulon more, as Cardiff soon levelled the scores when Wales centre Jamie Roberts crashed through the French club’s defence for a try that Blair converted.

Centre Tom May and Blair then exchanged penalties, before Cardiff conjured a decisive double strike, with Halfpenny and lock Bradley Davies both crossing for tries, the second of which was goaled by Blair.

Toulon guaranteed a nervous finale for Blues fans with a try from replacement Thomas Sourice two minutes from the end, but Cardiff held on for their historic success.

  •  To buy tickets for the 2020 European Rugby Challenge Cup final and Heineken Champions Cup final, please click HERE.