Following their impressive victory in Newcastle over Leinster Rugby, Saracens have become the first Gallagher Premiership club to win the Heineken Champions Cup on three occasions. They now join RC Toulon with three European Cup titles, behind Toulouse and 2018 winners Leinster with four apiece. Have a read of some other key match facts and stats below.

  • Leinster’s defeat at St James’ Park was their first in six European final appearances.  
  • Saracens repeated their feat of the 2015/16 season by winning all nine matches in the one campaign.  
  • For the fourth season in a row, Owen Farrell has finished as the tournament’s top scorer, this time with 89 points. 
  • EPCR European Player of the Year, Alex Goode, and Leinster’s Jordan Larmour, played all 720 minutes of this season’s Heineken Champions Cup campaign.  
  • Over 1 million spectators watched the tournament this season, and a combined 1.52 million came through the turnstiles for the Heineken Champions Cup and Challenge Cup representing an increase of nearly 6% on 2017/18.  

  • Heineken Man of the Match, Brad Barritt, is now the second captain in the 24-year history of the tournament to lift the trophy three times. Current Leinster Head Coach, Leo Cullen, was the first. 
  • A try scorer at St James’ Park, Sean Maitland (Crusaders 2008), as well as Will Skelton (Waratahs 2014) are now on the list of Heineken Champions Cup and Super Rugby winners. A total of 11 players have achieved the coveted northern hemisphere-southern hemisphere club double.
  • Brad Barritt made 28 tackles and 13 carries in Saturday’s final while Billy Vunipola made 63 metres. James Ryan was the leading carrier for Leinster with 19.