Saracens prop Mako Vunipola has been named in the final five for the 2019 EPCR European Player of the Year award, having already won two Heineken Man of the Match awards for his performances in this season’s Heineken Champions Cup.  

The explosive 28-year-old was outstanding in Saracens’ victories over Cardiff Blues and Lyon in Rounds 3 and 5 respectively, helping the two-time champions into the quarter-finals for the eighth consecutive season. 

He missed Saracens’ Heineken Champions Cup 56-27 quarter-final win over Glasgow Warriors but returned in the semi-finals, when the English club defeated Munster Rugby 32-16 and clinched a spot in the showpiece final for the third time in four seasons. 

To vote for Vunipola as your EPCR European Player of the Year or to view all five nominees, click HERE and be in the running to win a signed jersey of one of the Heineken Champions Cup final clubs. 

The winner of one of the most prized individual accolades in the world game will receive a specially struck gold medal as well as the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy. 

Five players have emerged from stage one of the voting, with a list of 15 nominees whittled down by a combination of the public vote and the selections of a respected panel of judges.  

The final five are: Sean Cronin (Leinster Rugby)Tadhg Furlong (Leinster Rugby)Alex Goode (Saracens)Garry Ringrose (Leinster Rugby) and Mako Vunipola (Saracens). 

The 2019 award will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final at St. James’ Park on Saturday, May 11. 

The judging panel includes a wealth of international rugby talent – such as Ireland legend Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), ex-South Africa wing Bryan Habana (Channel 4) and former France scrum-half Dimitri Yachvili (beIN SPORTS).