The draw to decide the 2006 / 2007 Heineken Cup Pools will take place on Wednesday, 21 June at 12 noon, at Twickenham Stadium – the venue for the London ’07 Heineken Cup final.

The draw, as per last season, will decide the make up of the six Pools of four teams each for the 2006 / 2007 Heineken Cup Pool stages.

ERC Chairman Jean-Pierre Lux will conduct the draw, which will take place in the Twickenham Stadium.

The No 1 seeded teams from each of the six nations – England, Ireland, Italy, France, Scotland and Wales – will be drawn in separate Pools. In England, Italy and France this will be decided by the winner of each respective domestic championship. In the three Celtic countries top seed will be decided by performance in the Celtic League.

Sale Sharks (England), Ulster (Ireland), Edinburgh Gunners (Scotland), Cardiff Blues (Wales) and Benetton Treviso (Italy)
The French top seed will be decided following the Top 14 final on Saturday, 10 June, between Biarritz Olympique and Toulouse

No two teams from the same country will be drawn in the same Pool except for the seventh French club, Castres Olympique, who could face any of their six domestic rivals.

Step 1             Six top seeded teams drawn into six separate Pools
Step 2             Five French teams drawn into five separate Pools
  (teams ranked 2 to 6)
Step 3             Five English teams drawn into five separate Pools
  (teams ranked 2 to 6)
Step 4             Two Irish teams drawn into two separate Pools
Step 5             Two Italian teams drawn into two separate Pools
Step 6             Two Welsh teams drawn into two separate Pools
Step 7             One Scottish team drawn into a Pool
Step 8             Seventh French team drawn into final Pool spot

FRANCE (seven teams)
Biarritz Olympique Pays Basque or Toulouse (Top Seed to be decided 10 June), Stade Francais Paris, Perpignan, Agen, Bourgoin, Castres Olympique (seventh French team)
ENGLAND (six teams)
Sale Sharks (Top Seed), Leicester Tigers, London Irish, London Wasps, Gloucester Rugby, Northampton Saints
IRELAND (three teams)
Ulster Rugby (Top Seed), Leinster Rugby, Munster Rugby                          
ITALY (three teams)
Benetton Treviso (Top Seed), Ghial Rugby Calvisano, Overmach Rugby Parma
WALES (three teams)
Cardiff Blues (Top Seed), Llanelli Scarlets, Ospreys
Edinburgh Gunners (Top Seed), Border Reivers