The key principles and key steps integral to the Draw are explined below

  • The 20 Clubs which have qualified on merit from the Gallagher Premiership Rugby, the Guinness PRO14 and the TOP14 will compete in the 2019/20 Heineken Champions Cup in five pools of four
  • The clubs are divided into four tiers based on their performances in the knockout phases, and/or their qualification postions in their league tables.  This will be done by a draw in advance of the main pool draw
  • The 2019 Heineken Champions Cup winners go automatically into Tier 1
  • Each pool will have at least one club from each of the three leagues
  • Each of the five pools will have one club from each of the four tiers
  • No pool will contain two PRO14 clubs from the same country
  • Clubs from the same league will be kept apart until the allocation of the Tier 4 clubs

Click HERE for a detailed explanation of the Heineken Champions Cup pool draw