Alex Goode kicked 20 points as Heineken Champions Cup Pool A side Saracens secured their eighth straight win of the Gallagher Premiership season on Saturday with a 25-10 success at Bristol Bears.

2019 EPCR European Player of the Year Goode helped Saracens further underline their Heineken Champions Cup credentials at Ashton Gate as he slotted six penalties and converted Max Malins’ excellent finish.

Meanwhile, Sale Sharks, who have also showcased their Heineken Champions Cup potential with impressive domestic performances so far this campaign, chalked up a 27-17 home win over Gloucester Rugby.

Sale consolidated their position in second place in the Premiership – 10 points behind Saracens – as Joe Carpenter, Tommy Taylor and Ben Curry dotted down, with Robert du Preez kicking 12 points.

Fellow Heineken Champions Cup hopefuls Gloucester responded with three tries – through Santiago Socino, Jacob Morris and Freddie Clarke – but were ultimately outgunned at the AJ Bell Stadium.

In the TOP 14, a Léo Aouf try and 14 points from Antoine Hastoy enabled 2022 Heineken Champions Cup winners Stade Rochelais to return to winning ways with a 19-17 triumph at CA Brive.

Elsewhere, a strong second-half display from Racing 92 saw them ease to a 44-20 win over USAP at Paris La Défense Arena, with Wenceslas Lauret (2), Maxime Baudonne, Finn Russell and Christian Wade all going over.

Russell, who was omitted from the Scotland squad for the Autumn Nations Series, also kicked nine points, with Antoine Gibert adding 10.

Lyon were the other Heineken Champions Cup side to secure victory in the TOP 14 on Saturday as tries from Yanis Charcosset and Ethan Dumortier, plus 16 points from the boot of Fletcher Smith, earned them a 26-20 win over Castres Olympique at Matmut Stadium Gerland.

2021 Heineken Champions Cup winners Stade Toulousain met Stade Français Paris in a top-of-the-table clash, and a 16-16 draw at Stade Ernest-Wallon leaves them nine points clear at the summit.

Paul Costes went over to level the scores late on after Selevasio Tolofua’s earlier effort for the hosts.