We continue our in-depth look at the teams in Pool A of the EPCR Challenge Cup with a profile of Cardiff Rugby.

EPCR Challenge Cup record

Cardiff have won the EPCR Challenge Cup twice – in 2010, when they beat RC Toulon 28-21 in Marseille in the final, and in 2018, when they pipped Gloucester Rugby 31-30 in a Bilbao thriller.

Last season

Cardiff dropped down from the Heineken Champions Cup into the EPCR Challenge Cup Round of 16 after winning only one of their four pool games and fared no better there, bowing out 40-33 at Saracens.

Director of rugby

Dai Young began his second stint in permanent charge of Cardiff in April last year, having initially joined the Welsh outfit in an interim role three months previously following nine seasons in the Wasps hot seat.

The 55-year-old, who made 51 appearances for Wales, began his coaching career at Cardiff in 2003 after he retired from playing and led them to their first EPCR Challenge Cup trophy before quitting for Wasps in 2011.

Key players

The Cardiff squad is dominated by Welshmen, with Australian international back-rower Lopeti Timani, Samoa back Rey Lee-Lo and Moldova prop Dmitri Arhip the main exceptions.

Among those home players are some big-name Welsh internationals, including full-back Liam Williams, wing Josh Adams, fly-half Rhys Priestland, scrum-half Tomos Williams, flanker Josh Navidi and No.8 Taulupe Faletau.

Pool fixtures

Cardiff have drawn CA Brive and Newcastle Falcons in their EPCR Challenge Cup pool fixtures. Cardiff start and finish against Brive, at home on December 10 and away on January 21, with matches against Newcastle, away on December 17 and home on January 15, sandwiched in between.