Our final 2020 EPCR European Player of the Year nominee is Racing 92 centre Virimi Vakatawa, who enjoyed another stellar poolstage campaign as the French side clinched a spot in the last eight of the Heineken Champions Cup. 

The powerful French international has been vital cog in Racing’s dynamic attack this season, picking up three Heineken Man of the Match awards – against Saracens, Ospreys and Munster Rugby in Rounds 1, 3 and 5 respectively. 

Vakatawa also leads the way in the competition for defenders beaten (39) – 12 more than any other player – and clean breaks (14), as well as featuring in the top 10 for tries (4), carries (65) and metres gained (396). 

The winner of one of the most prized individual accolades in the world game will receive a specially-struck gold medal as well as the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy. 

Voting for the award is now open HERE and fans will be in the running to win two VIP tickets to the Heineken Champions Cup final in Marseille next May with one night’s accommodation courtesy of EPCR, and a signed jersey of one of the Heineken Champions Cup finalist clubs. 

The list will be reduced to five players in early May following the Heineken Champions Cup and Challenge Cup semi-finals by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the judges, and players who have not been included in the initial list of 15, but who make a significant impact in a quarter-final or semi-final match, may be considered for the shortlist. 

The voting will then re-open and the winner of the 2020 award will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final at the Stade Vélodrome, Marseille on Saturday, 23 May.