Racing 92 lock Leone Nakarawa has been nominated for the 2019 EPCR European Player of the Year award, having continued the form that helped him win last season’s accolade, when he scored four tries en route to the European Champions Cup final. 

The 30-year-old is well known for his breathtaking offloads, with only Ulster’s Will Addison and Toulouse’s Joe Tekori boasting more than his 13 so far this season. The Fijian can also boast 180 metres gained from 71 carries, as well as 41 tackles and five clean breaks. 

He helped the 2018 finalists top Pool 4 and clinch a home quarter-final against Toulouse on March 31, live on BT Sport, FR2 and beIN SPORTS. 

To vote for Nakarawa as your EPCR European Player of the Year or to view all 15 nominees, click HERE and be in the running to win two VIP tickets to the Heineken Champions Cup final in Newcastle next May, one night’s accommodation courtesy of EPCR and a signed jersey of one of the Heineken Champions Cup final clubs. 

The 15 nominees will be reduced to five in April, following the Heineken Champions Cup semi-finals, by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the judges. Players who have not been included in the initial list, but who make a significant impact in a quarter-final or semi-final can be considered for the shortlist. 

The voting will then be reopened and the winner of the 2019 award will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final at St James’ Park on Saturday, May 11. 

The winner of one of the most prized individual accolades in the world game will receive a specially struck gold medal as well as the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy. 

The judging panel includes a wealth of International rugby talent – such as Ireland legend Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), ex-South Africa wing Bryan Habana (Channel 4) and former France scrum-half Dimitri Yachvili (beIN SPORTS).