Leinster Rugby prop Tadhg Furlong has been nominated for the 2019 EPCR European Player of the Year award after yet another outstanding pool stage campaign in the Heineken Champions Cup. 

The 26-year-old Irish international has, like last season, started every match in the competition so far as the defending champions booked a third successive quarter-final place and a home tie on March 30 against Ulster Rugby at the Aviva Stadium live on BT Sport and beIN SPORTS. 

His powerful running and superb scrummaging ability have given Leinster a crucial advantage throughout the competition, where they lie second for carries and first in tries and points scored. 

To vote for Furlong as your EPCR European Player of the Year or to view all 15 nominees, click HERE and be in the running to win two VIP tickets to the Heineken Champions Cup final in Newcastle next May, one night’s accommodation courtesy of EPCR and a signed jersey of one of the Heineken Champions Cup final clubs. 

The 15 nominees will be reduced to five in April, following the Heineken Champions Cup semi-finals, by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the judges. Players who have not been included in the initial list, but who make a significant impact in a quarter-final or semi-final can be considered for the shortlist. 

The voting will then be reopened and the winner of the 2019 award will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final at St James’ Park on Saturday, May 11. 

The winner of one of the most prized individual accolades in the world game will receive a specially struck gold medal as well as the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy. 

The judging panel includes a wealth of International rugby talent – such as Ireland legend Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport), ex-South Africa wing Bryan Habana (Channel 4) and former France scrum-half Dimitri Yachvili (beIN SPORTS).