Munster Rugby lock Tadhg Beirne has been nominated for the 2019 EPCR European Player of the Year after a stellar Heineken Champions Cup campaign to date.

The 27-year-old Ireland international helped Munster top Pool 2 and book a quarter-final against Edinburgh Rugby at BT Murrayfield on Saturday, 30 March.

He leads the competition in turnovers with 13 and clinched Heineken Man of the Match awards in Munster’s Round 1 and 6 matches against Exeter Chiefs.

He has also played 466 of a possible 480 minutes so far in the Heineken Champions Cup, making 63 tackles and 59 carries in his six appearances.

To vote for Beirne as your EPCR European Player of the Year and to view all 15 nominees, click HERE and be in the running to win two VIP tickets to the Heineken Champions Cup final in Newcastle next May, one night’s accommodation courtesy of EPCR and a signed jersey of one of the Heineken Champions Cup final clubs. 

The 15 nominees will be reduced to five in April, following the Heineken Champions Cup semi-finals, by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the judges. Players who have not been included in the initial list, but who make a significant impact in a quarter-final or semi-final can be considered for the shortlist. 

The voting will then be reopened and the winner of the 2019 award will be announced following the Heineken Champions Cup final at St James’ Park on Saturday, May 11.

The winner of one of the most prized individual accolades in the world game will receive a specially struck gold medal as well as the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy.

The judging panel includes a wealth of international rugby talent – such as European Cup winners, Brian O’Driscoll (BT Sport) and Bryan Habana (Channel 4), and Challenge Cup winner, Dimitri Yachvili (beIN SPORTS).